The Chieftains 8
page-template-default,page,page-id-182,stockholm-core-2.4.3,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-9.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,header_top_hide_on_mobile,,qode_menu_,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.6,vc_responsive

The Chieftains 8

‘The Chieftains 8’ saw the final appearance of Michael Tubridy and Seán Potts with the group, and features a beautiful and striking set piece composed by Paddy Moloney, ‘Sea Image’, a six minute experimental piece in homage to the stirring power of the sea. ‘Melody Maker’, Europe’s No. 1 music magazine, complimented the group for not resting on their laurels and continuing to experiment and expand, and named them Group of the Year.

Track Listing

  1. The Session
  2. Dr. John Hart
  3. Seán sa Cheo
  4. An tSean Bhean Bhocht, The Fairies’ Hornpipe
  5. Sea Image
  6. If I had Maggie in the Wood
  7. An Spéic Seoigheach
  8. The Dogs among the Bushes
  9. Miss Hamilton
  10. The Job of Journeywork
  11. The Wind that Shakes the Barley/The Reel with the Beryle