Water from the Well
page-template-default,page,page-id-277,stockholm-core-2.4.3,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-9.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,header_top_hide_on_mobile,,qode_menu_,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.6,vc_responsive

Water from the Well

‘Water from the Well’ is a collection of tunes drawn together from the length and breadth of the island of Ireland. It is, in the truest sense of the word, a musical journey which sees The Chieftains travel back to their musical roots, revisiting people, places and music they first met way, way back. ‘Water from the Well’ sees the Chieftains at their traditional best, collaborating once again but this time with their fellow traditional players – friends old and new. This journey takes us from Matt Molloy’s pub in Westport, to the Community Hall in Kilfenora with a sprinkling of the famous Céilí band; from Dingle with copious singers to squeeze boxes and set dancers in Laois; and from the Glens of Antrim with twelve harpers to Donegal with Altan.

Track Listing

  1. Lots of Drops of Brandy
  2. Bean an Fhir Rua (The Red Haired Man’s Wife)
  3. Jack of All Trades
  4. Within a mile of Dublin/The Old Blackthorn
  5. The Dusty Miller
  6. The Lovely Sweet Banks of the Moy
  7. An Poc ar Buile (The Mad Puck Goat)
  8. The Dingle Set
    Tom Billy’s/The Gladstone/The Star above the Garter
  9. Planxty George Brabazon
  10. The Donegal Set
    Willy’s Single/King of the Pipers/The Glen Road to Carrick
  11. The May Morning Dew
  12. The Kilfenora Set
  13. An Buinneán Buí (The Yellow Bittern)/The County Tyrone/Newry Hornpipe
  14. Ballyfin Polkas
  15. Casadh an tSúgáin (Twisting of the Rope)